Adjoining the lovely Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel, the museum of the Historic Site Marguerite-Bourgeoys, with its many captivating nooks and crannies, presents the life and achievements of this exceptional woman: Montréal’s first teacher and the founder of the Congrégation de Notre-Dame. Don't miss out on this twofold heritage gem!
- When Marguerite arrived in Montréal in 1653 with the recruits brought over to breathe new life into the fledging colony, she saw that nothing had yet been done about schooling. Learn about the personal saga of Montréal’s first teacher, and how her energy and daring helped shape the destiny of the future city. Meet Marguerite, our new exhibition, pays tribute to this New World pioneer whose life and work are an invaluable legacy for all Quebeckers.
- The history of the neighbourhood, the Bonsecours site and Marguerite’s own saga are all brought to life for those who want to experience Bonsecours with their smartphone.
- Stop off and admire the Portrait of Marguerite Bourgeoys, painted in 1700 by Pierre Le Ber, and learn more about her fascinating story.
- Join a guided tour of the archaeological site underneath the chapel, where you can see impressive remains, including the foundations of the first stone chapel, erected in 1675, and traces of the wooden palisade that made up the town’s fortifications in 1708.